What I’ve Been Up To

I’ve been doing things! I’m slowly coming out of a brief anti-social spell and I’m exhausted.

Yesterday, a colleague and I took in the Yayoi Kusama: Infinity Mirrors exhibit at the Hirshhorn Museum. I loved it, and I’m not usually a modern art fan. It involved waiting in many lines, but it didn’t bother me, which says a lot about the installations and the experience. (Check out the photos on my Instagram page.) Visitors were only allowed 20-30 seconds in each mirrored room, which makes sense, but I could have stayed in some for hours.

Last week another friend and I attended a Free Folger Friday event at the Folger Shakespeare Library. They hold these events before a relevant show that evening. As You Like It involved music, so they had their consultant and musician Brian Kay play some tunes and talk about music and instruments of the time. The music was great and the instruments were fascinating, but I could do without the sing-along. Call me a killjoy, but I’ve never been into that kind of thing. They’re having another free event this Friday about Middle English manuscripts, which sounds super exciting to me, but I bet I’ll be flying solo for that one.

We ate at Tortilla Coast before the show, and while it was the most accessible place near the theater, it was underwhelming. D.C. restaurants in general have been this way for me, which is sad. Also funny because it tries to be a foodie city and then kinda fails. It produces something like a “restaurant anxiety”, because people rave about places and then more often than not I end up disappointed. I had some restaurant anxiety on Sunday, when I tried a new place for dinner out in the ‘burbs where I live. Thankfully, it was unfounded and this place–while pricey–turned out to be good! Check it out here if you’re local.

So what else have I been doing?  I’m still knitting that scarf. It keeps growing, yet it doesn’t seem like the ball of yarn is getting any smaller. I may be knitting this scarf until the heat-death of the universe.

I’m really into this new podcast, Missing Richard Simmons. It’s fascinating stuff. Part of me hates the feeling of participating in observing a possible celebrity trainwreck/mental illness situation, yet I need to know what happens. Also he needs to come back so I can go to Beverly Hills and workout with him.

I’ve been reading a novella by Ursula K. Le Guin from the 60s, and I’m realizing how relevant a lot of her older works are to today’s political climate. I need to reread The Dispossessed and The Left Hand of Darkness. That woman was ahead of her time. Hope to have more coherent thoughts on that later.

What are YOU doing?

Leave a Reply

